You are here

Archived: Agnes House

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 1 December 2011
Date of Publication: 23 December 2011
Inspection Report published 23 December 2011 PDF

People should be cared for in safe and accessible surroundings that support their health and welfare (outcome 10)

Meeting this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Are in safe, accessible surroundings that promote their wellbeing.

How this check was done

Our judgement

Action has been taken which should give people greater assurance that the premises are safe and more pleasant to live in.

User experience

During our June 2011 inspection people told us that they liked their bedrooms. We found that generally the premises were fit for purpose in terms of size and general maintenance.

We did not speak to people during our December 2011 about the safety and suitability of the premises.

We spoke with the manager who confirmed that all work that we had identified that needed to be undertaken had been completed.

Other evidence

We inspected this location on 14 June 2011 and found non compliance concerning this outcome area. We saw that the bathroom had some loose tiles, that there were small amounts of mould on the ceiling and the enamel was chipped on the bath. We also saw an engineers report for the fire alarm system dated 6 April 2011 which stated 'batteries in both panels now need replacing urgently'. The manager confirmed that this work had been not been carried out.

When we inspected the location in December 2011 we looked at official documentation from the engineer regarding the fire alarm system. This confirmed that the batteries in the fire alarm system had been replaced on 22 June 2011. The report confirmed; ‘Replaced batteries in both fire panels as found faulty on service check. Now all ok’.

We looked at the bathroom and saw that all of the work had been completed. The bathroom looked bright and clean. There was no mould on the ceiling, the bath enemal was no longer chipped and the tiles were fixed.

The manager also told us that internal decoration is being undertaken at the present time and that work had been undertaken in the garden. These actions will make the premises a pleasant place to live in.