You are here

Deafness Support Network Good

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 5, 6, 17 September 2012
Date of Publication: 4 October 2012
Inspection Report published 4 October 2012 PDF

Staff should be properly trained and supervised, and have the chance to develop and improve their skills (outcome 14)

Meeting this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Are safe and their health and welfare needs are met by competent staff.

How this check was done

We looked at the personal care or treatment records of people who use the service, carried out a visit on 5 September 2012, 6 September 2012 and 17 September 2012, checked how people were cared for at each stage of their treatment and care and talked with people who use the service. We talked with staff and talked with stakeholders.

We were supported on this inspection by an expert-by-experience. This is a person who has personal experience of using or caring for someone who uses this type of care service.

Our judgement

The provider was meeting this standard. People were cared for by staff who were supported to deliver care and treatment safely and to an appropriate standard.

Reasons for our judgement

All of the people we spoke with made positive comments about the staff who supported them. They felt that staff were well supported by the agency and that they knew what they were doing.

People said they were happy with the care staff who supported them and most had been with them some time and understood their care needs. Other comments included "I am pleased there are some Deaf staff."

People had care plans and they had been included in the reviews of the plans and knew what changes had been made.

Four staff files were seen and showed that formal supervision and appraisals of the staff team had been undertaken on a regular basis. Staff had received supervision during August 2012 and annual reviews had been completed during February and March 2012.

New staff attended an induction programme and a copy of the completed checklist was seen in staff files. Also staff signed to show receipt of a range of policies and procedures and also a copy of the employee handbook.

Staff had access to a wide range of training. All staff had training on moving and handling, medication, basic food hygiene, safeguarding adults, diabetes awareness, epilepsy awareness, equality and diversity, first aid at work, management of actual or potential aggression and fire awareness.

Twenty staff had undertaken National Vocational Qualification (NVQ) level 2 in care and seven staff have level 3. This meant that people were supported by a well trained staff team. Staff said that the training was “very good”, “easy to understand” and “training is usually in small groups which I like.”

Twenty-one staff had British Sign Language (BSL) level 1 or 2 or are Deaf and therefore BSL was their first language. One new staff member was undertaking BSL level 1 and two new staff members were registered to start BSL level 1.