You are here

Archived: Midlands and North Regional Office

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 21 September 2017

We do not currently rate independent standalone substance misuse services.

We inspected Midlands and North Regional Office on 2 and 3 August 2017. This was an unannounced, focused inspection to find out whether the service had made the required improvements since our last inspection on the 31 October 2016.

We found the following issues that the service provider needs to improve:

  • Clinical waste was not managed safely at Hull and Mansfield. Equipment at Manchester was not safe to use. Medicines were not stored safely or securely. The clinical hand washbasins at Mansfield and Hull were not compliant with the Department of Health guidance on infection control in the clinical environment. Staff had not completed a risk assessment to identify the risk of the spread of infection nor had actions been identified to mitigate the potential risks. Staff were not appropriately recording risks to clients.

  • Staff could not be certain that they were meeting all clients’ needs and achieving their preferences.

  • Some clients did not know how to complain.

  • Monitoring systems in place were not effective in ensuring the safe storage of prescribed dressings. Monitoring systems in place were not effective in ensuring that the registered managers and the service managers had complete oversight of mandatory training, appraisals and disclosure and barring checks.

  • Although some improvements had been made to issues identified at the last inspection, these improvements had not been made at all sites.

  • Audit findings were not always acted upon.

However, we also found the following areas of good practice:

  • Since our last inspection in October 2016, staff at Blackburn had reviewed and improved the management of clinical waste. At Manchester, the clinical hand washbasin had been replaced and met the required standards.

  • Staff were knowledgeable about identifying safeguarding concerns and knew who to contact for advice within the organisation. We found evidence that

    staff made appropriate safeguarding referrals when needed.

  • Staff knew how to handle complaints and records showed that overall complaints were processed in line with the provider’s policy. Since our last inspection, the recording of complaints had improved.

Inspection areas

Safe

Updated 21 September 2017

Effective

Updated 21 September 2017

Caring

Updated 21 September 2017

Responsive

Updated 21 September 2017

Well-led

Updated 21 September 2017

Checks on specific services

Substance misuse services

Updated 21 September 2017

See overall summary