You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 19 December 2018

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection on 25 November 2018. The provider was given 48 hours' notice because the location was a small care home for adults who may be out during the day; we therefore needed to be sure that someone would be in.

Little Eastbrook Farm provides care and accommodation for up to three people. On the day of our inspection there was one person living at the service. The home provides residential care for people with a learning disability. The service was run as a ‘family run home’ with people living and sharing all aspects of family life. For example, sharing living space. The PIR (Provider Information Record) states; “We currently provide a one to one service, and (X- the person who lives in the service) are considered as part of the family.”

People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection.

There was a registered manager in post. A registered manager, who was also the registered provider, is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

We checked the service was working in line with ‘Registering the right support’, which makes sure services for people with a learning disability and/or autism receive services are developed in line with national policy - including the national plan, Building the right support - and best practice. For example, how the service ensured care was personalised, discharge if needed, people’s independence and links with their community.

The service has now improved to Good in Effective.

At the last comprehensive inspection on the 27 May 2016, the service was rated Good overall. However, it was rated Requires improvement in Effective. We followed this inspection up with a focussed inspection to look at the improvements they had made. At the follow up inspection in August 2017 we found the staff had a good understanding of the Mental Capacity Act 2005, but some records needed improving to ensure all decision making was recorded. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the overall rating of Good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

Why the service is rated Good:

People were not able to fully verbalise all their views therefore they were not able to tell us about all their experience of living there. We spent time with people seeing how they spent their day and observing the interactions between people and the staff supporting them. However, when asked if they were happy living in Little Eastbrook Farm said ‘Yes’ and they ‘didn’t want to move out.’

People remained safe at the service. People were protected from abuse as staff understood what action they needed to take if they suspected anyone was being abused, mistreated or neglected. Staff, who had worked at the service for many years, had been recruited safely and had completed checks with the Disclosure and Barring Service (DBS).

People’s risks were assessed, monitored and managed by staff to help ensure they remained safe. Staff assessed and understood risks associated with people’s care and current lifestyle. Risks were managed effectively to keep people safe whilst maintaining people’s rights and independence.

People had their medicines managed safely, and received their medicines in a way they chose and preferred. Staff had completed training in medicines and had contact with the local pharmacist to ensure best

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 19 December 2018

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 19 December 2018

The service has improved to Good.

The provider was acting in accordance with the Mental Capacity Act (2005) and Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS) codes of practice to ensure people were not deprived of their liberty without lawful authority.

Records had improved to ensure all decision making was documented as required.

Caring

Good

Updated 19 December 2018

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 19 December 2018

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 19 December 2018

The service remains Good.