You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 2 July 2016

We carried out an inspection of CarePlus 24 Agency Domiciliary Care Agency (DCA) on 24, 29 and 30 April 2015, we found the provider had not met the regulations in relation to the safe management of medicines, and had not ensured staff were of good character and suitable to work with people who used the service. People’s personal records were not accurate and up to date. The provider did not have an effective system to regularly assess, monitor and improve the quality of service that people received. An action plan was submitted by the provider that detailed how they would meet the legal requirements by August 2015.

We undertook this inspection on 23 May 2016 to check the provider had made improvements and to confirm that legal requirements had been met. At this inspection we found improvements had been made and the provider was now meeting the regulations. We told the provider two days before our visit that we would be coming. We did this because they were also the registered manager and were sometimes out of the office supporting staff or visiting people who use the service. We needed to be sure that they would be in.

CarePlus 24 provides personal care services to people in their own homes. At the time of our inspection three people received care from a member of staff who lived-in at their home. CarePlus 24 provides support for people who require a range of personal and care support related to personal hygiene, mobility, nutrition and continence. Some people were living with early stages of a dementia type illness or other long-term health related condition. People lived reasonably independent lives but required support to maintain this independence.

In addition to the DCA the provider also provided care staff to work in local care and nursing homes on a temporary basis. These staff are often referred to as ‘agency staff.’ This type of agency is not regulated by the Care Quality Commission (CQC) therefore was not included in our inspection although it is referred to in this report.

People were supported by staff who knew them well. Staff had a good understanding of people’s individual needs and choices. People told us they received the care they needed and wanted. They said they were involved in making their own decisions on a day to day basis.

Some people required support to take their medicines and this was done safely by staff who had received the appropriate training. Risks were well managed and people were supported to stay as safe as possible whilst maintaining their independence and lifestyle choices.

There were enough staff who had been safely recruited to look after people. Staff were introduced to people and were known to them before they supported them alone. Staff received on-going training and supervision to help them meet the needs of people who used the service. Staff told us they felt supported by the manager who was open and approachable.

People were regularly asked for their feedback through care reviews and telephone contact by the registered manager. There was a quality assurance system in place to assess and monitor the quality of the service.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 2 July 2016

Risk assessments were in place. Staff understood how to support people to remain independent in a safe way.

People were protected from the risk of abuse because staff understood what they needed to do if they thought someone was at risk

There were enough staff to meet the needs of people who used the service.

Recruitment records showed there were systems in place that helped ensure staff were suitable to work at the service.

Medicines were stored, administered and disposed of safely by staff who had received appropriate training.

Effective

Good

Updated 2 July 2016

CarePlus 24 was effective.

Staff received the training they needed to meet the needs of people using the service.

Staff had an understanding of MCA and DoLS although not all staff had received DoLS training.

People were supported to make decisions about what to eat and drink each day.

People had their health needs met and were referred to healthcare professionals promptly when needed.

Caring

Good

Updated 2 July 2016

CarePlus 24 was caring.

Staff knew people very well; they had a good understanding of people as individuals. This enabled them to provide bespoke care to the people they supported.

People were supported to remain as independent as possible and make decisions about their daily care.

Responsive

Good

Updated 2 July 2016

CarePlus 24 was responsive.

People received care and support that was responsive to their needs because staff knew people well.

There was a complaints procedure in place and people were given a copy of this when they started using the service.

Well-led

Good

Updated 2 July 2016

CarePlus 24 was well-led

There were systems in place to monitor the quality of the service.

The registered manager had a clear philosophy about the service they provided.

People and staff told us the service was well managed, and the registered manager was supportive and accessible.