You are here

Archived: Swallow Wood Care Home

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 6 July 2011
Date of Publication: 26 September 2011
Inspection Report published 26 September 2011 PDF | 68.87 KB

The service should have quality checking systems to manage risks and assure the health, welfare and safety of people who receive care (outcome 16)

Meeting this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Benefit from safe quality care, treatment and support, due to effective decision making and the management of risks to their health, welfare and safety.

How this check was done

We reviewed all the information we hold about this provider, carried out a visit on 06/07/2011, checked the provider's records and talked to people who use services.

Our judgement

The provider reviewed aspects of the service performance through a programme of audits and consultations, which included seeking the views of people using the service, staff and relatives.

User experience

People that we spoke with said that they could express their opinions and ideas about the service through regular meetings and one to one discussion with the manager. People told us that "We can speak to the staff or the manager at any time or we get our relatives to do this for us."

Other evidence

Feedback from people using the service, relatives and staff was obtained through the use of satisfaction questionnaires, meetings, suggestion box, one to one sessions and the open door policy. This information was analysed by the manager and where necessary action was taken to make changes or improvements to the service. This was evidenced in the various meeting minutes and discussed with all interested parties at the next meeting.

The last survey was carried out in January 2011 and the results were on display in the entrance hall. Overall the feedback was positive about the service, with people saying that they were involved in the discussions/decisions about their care, were satisfied with the care they received and were aware of the complaints procedure.

The provider had an effective quality assurance system in place with internal and external audits being carried out. Doncaster council’s environmental health team visited in April 2011 and their report on the kitchen at Swallow Wood said the home was meeting their standards. The provider carried out their own catering audit in May 2011 and no issues were raised by staff or people using the service. The pharmacy supplier carried out an audit in 2011 and recommended that fridge temperatures were recorded and stock levels were rotated, and we found on our visit that this had been actioned by the manager and staff.

The manager completed in-house safety audits of accident records and medication sheets. We were informed that the format for the infection prevention and control audit was available but had not yet been used by the manager. The manager said this would be completed by August 2011.

We were informed that the manager held meetings for staff, resident and relatives, health and safety and general issues. Minutes of the meetings were made available to us for inspection.