You are here

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 2 July 2013
Date of Publication: 30 July 2013
Inspection Report published 30 July 2013 PDF

People should be cared for in safe and accessible surroundings that support their health and welfare (outcome 10)

Meeting this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Are in safe, accessible surroundings that promote their wellbeing.

How this check was done

We looked at the personal care or treatment records of people who use the service, carried out a visit on 2 July 2013, observed how people were being cared for and checked how people were cared for at each stage of their treatment and care. We talked with people who use the service.

Our judgement

People who use the service, staff and visitors were protected against the risks of unsafe or unsuitable premises.

Reasons for our judgement

West Bank Care Home is a four storey Victorian building situated within its own grounds. On our inspection in December 2012 we found the internal environment of the home floor, coverings and some furniture showed clear signs of wear and tear. Drawers on cupboards did not fit properly and there were handles missing from other drawer fronts. This made it difficult to open the drawers. In the 1st floor bathroom the vinyl floor covering had split at the joint which was in the centre of the floor. On the top floor in the hallway the carpet was worn and where the carpets had been joined together it had split due to wear and tear. On the day of this inspection in July 2013 we noticed the bathroom vinyl covering had been repaired, and the carpets had also been repaired. We noticed all the drawers now fitted into place and handles had been replaced. The bedrooms in use were tidy however the décor, which included carpets and wall coverings, were dated. The furniture in the rooms was practical but again dated.

We noticed that several portable items had up-to-date portable appliance test (PAT) stickers. A planned maintenance schedule was available which ensured that servicing and repairs were being undertaken in a timely manner. The immediate surroundings outside the home and the walkways around the premises were generally tidy. Dry stone walling material had been moved from adjacent to the main entrance door and was neatly stacked in the gardens of the home.(This was stone which had covered the main gas pipe feed from the driveway into the home on the August 2011 inspection.)

On the December 2012 we inspected the cellar area, a fire extinguisher in a cradle which was attached to the wall was obscured by a broken chair. The top of the fire extinguisher was covered by diffusers meant for strip lights. In the event of a fire it would be difficult to access this fire extinguisher. On the day of this inspection we noticed this area was free of obstructions and the fire extinguisher was clearly visible.

On the December 2012 inspection we saw the kitchen was located in the cellar area of the home and the dining room was located directly above the kitchen on the ground floor. This was connected by a small lift shaft so that meals could be transferred from the kitchen to the dining room. In the event of a fire in the kitchen this shaft could act like a chimney and any fire could quickly spread between the two floors. It was not possible to ascertain if there were sufficient fire prevention measures in place to prevent fire spreading from the kitchen to the rest of the house via the dining room. This matter was referred to the Fire Safety Officer of the West Yorkshire Fire Service. On the day of this inspection we saw this matter had now been rectified to a suitable standard and the Fire Safety Officer had previously reported to the Care Quality Commission this was now considered safe.