You are here

Easthill Home for Deaf People Good

Our most recent reports on this service are available as British sign language videos. You can watch the video of our December 2015 report here. British sign language videos of our July 2015 report and our November 2014 report are also available.
All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 9, 17 September 2014
Date of Publication: 1 November 2014
Inspection Report published 01 November 2014 PDF

Staff should be properly trained and supervised, and have the chance to develop and improve their skills (outcome 14)

Enforcement action taken

We checked that people who use this service

  • Are safe and their health and welfare needs are met by competent staff.

How this check was done

We looked at the personal care or treatment records of people who use the service, carried out a visit on 9 September 2014 and 17 September 2014, observed how people were being cared for and checked how people were cared for at each stage of their treatment and care. We talked with people who use the service and talked with staff.

We were supported on this inspection by an expert-by-experience. This is a person who has personal experience of using or caring for someone who uses this type of care service.

We used British Sign Language (BSL) interpreter to help us communicate with people and staff.

Our judgement

Staff were not supported to deliver care and support safely and to an appropriate standard by an effective system of supervisions and appraisal. Staff did not receive appropriate, timely training in core topics.

Reasons for our judgement

At our previous inspection, in January 2014 we identified that staff were not supported to deliver care and support safely and to an appropriate standard by an effective system of supervisions and appraisal. Staff did not receive appropriate, timely training in core topics. We set a compliance action and the provider wrote to us telling us they would take action to meet the regulation by 30 April 2014. They then wrote to us again, telling us there had been delays and the regulation would be met by 4 June 2014. At this inspection we found the regulation was not being met.

Staff did not receive appropriate and timely training. The manager sent us a training spreadsheet which showed training requirements and when courses were attended. This showed approximately half the courses where staff were due to receive initial training or refresher training in core subjects, such as infection control, the Mental Capacity Act (MCA), health and safety, fire safety and food safety were overdue. Some staff had received recent training in medicines and we saw training in the Mental Capacity Act was planned for the week of our inspection. In addition, hearing staff attended weekly training in British Sign Language (BSL) to help them communicate with people effectively. The manager agreed that critical skills and knowledge had not been kept up to date. However, they pointed out all staff either had or were working towards vocational qualifications in health and social care, including two who were about to start their level five qualification. Staff were supported to obtain relevant qualifications, but the management system did not ensure core skills and knowledge were kept up to date. This meant people were at risk of unsafe or inappropriate care and support.

We spoke with three members of staff, who confirmed that not all of their training was up to date. For example, one said, “Four years ago training was constant, but it’s not up to scratch at the moment.” They added that they were “not confident” in MCA. Another staff member said they could not remember when they last attended training in infection control and did not have a clear understanding of MCA. A third member of staff told us their training in safeguarding vulnerable adults and moving and handling was up to date, but said they had never been trained in infection control, first aid or food hygiene, although they regularly prepared food for people. Staff were not supported to deliver care and support to the required standard because they did not receive regular updates to their skills and knowledge in all core areas.

A system of supervisions and appraisals for staff had not been implemented. The manager was not able to show us any records of supervisions or appraisals from the past year, although they did show us three “discussion sheets” where staff had been challenged about mistakes they had made. Staff told us they found the management were generally supportive and they could “catch them for the odd 10 minutes” to discuss concerns. However they confirmed formal, documented supervisions and appraisals were not taking place. Suitable arrangements were not in place to ensure staff were appropriately supported by supervision and appraisal. This meant people were at risk of inappropriate or unsafe care because their care workers' performance was not checked and appraised regularly.