You are here

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 23 January 2012
Date of Publication: 28 February 2012
Inspection Report published 28 February 2012 PDF

The service should have quality checking systems to manage risks and assure the health, welfare and safety of people who receive care (outcome 16)

Meeting this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Benefit from safe quality care, treatment and support, due to effective decision making and the management of risks to their health, welfare and safety.

How this check was done

Our judgement

The home has procedures in place which ensure the on-going monitoring and improvement of the quality of the service provided.

User experience

All of the people we spoke with told us the service was a reliable one. We were told that people knew all of the staff who visited them and if new staff visited they were initially introduced by the regular staff members. One person told us all the staff were friendly.

Some people who lived in the on site apartments received meals as part of the service. One person told us the meals were “good”, another told us that sometimes they didn’t like the meals although a choice of meal was offered.

One relative said they had been asked about their opinion of the service one week after it commenced as part of a review. They told us they satisfied and felt there was good two way communication with the agency.

Other evidence

Staff and people who used the service were asked for their opinions in a survey conducted in October 2011. Some suggestions for food choices were made by people who received meals as part of the service. There were not any recorded comments or issues recorded on the personal care service that people received.

The provider had commissioned an audit of the home to be completed by an external consultant. One visit had been undertaken. A copy of the report was seen and an action plan had been drawn up. We discussed this with the manager and obtained an update. This indicated that progress was being made in some areas but that there were also outstanding actions such as providing people with copies of care plans.

A team brief for staff was circulated; the last one was dated December 2011. This updated staff on supervision, training, inspections and the business plan for the home.

The environmental health officer last visited on 22 June 2011 and the manager reported that where action was required this has been completed. The fire officer last visited on 8 July 2011 where all fire prevention measures were considered satisfactory.

A business plan for the company was in place and was regularly reviewed to ensure that progress to improve the service was being made. This was last reviewed in November 2011.

Some policies, procedures and documents we viewed such as the Service User Guide and safeguarding adult procedure required updating to reflect changes in the regulatory body (Care Quality Commission).