You are here

Archived: Highbury Residential Care Home Good

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 22, 23 June 2011
Date of Publication: 27 July 2011
Inspection Report published 27 July 2011 PDF | 75.82 KB

Staff should be properly trained and supervised, and have the chance to develop and improve their skills (outcome 14)

Not met this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Are safe and their health and welfare needs are met by competent staff.

How this check was done

We reviewed all the information we hold about this provider, carried out a visit on 22/06/2011, 23/06/2011, checked the provider's records, observed how people were being cared for, looked at records of people who use services, talked to staff and talked to people who use services.

Our judgement

Whilst staff members have received training and supervision, there are gaps which have the potential to prevent people’s needs from being met.

User experience

We did not discuss this outcome with people who use the service.

Other evidence

Staff members have received training on issues such as dementia, dignity in care, nutrition, safeguarding adults and a range of safe working practices. One of the staff members whose records were inspected had completed moving and handling training in August 2007; the second, in March 2008. The acting manager stated that moving and handling training had been provided to most staff in March 2010. She reported that all staff would update this training in the near future.

One of the staff whose records were inspected had received supervision during October and November 2010 and April 2011; the second, during September 2010 and May 2011. Information submitted as part of this review indicates that the manager is aware of the need to hold more one to one staff supervision sessions and plans to allocate time to ensure that this happens.