You are here

Archived: Bevan House

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 14 October 2011
Date of Publication: 14 November 2011
Inspection Report published 14 November 2011 PDF | 87.24 KB

People should be treated with respect, involved in discussions about their care and treatment and able to influence how the service is run (outcome 1)

Meeting this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Understand the care, treatment and support choices available to them.
  • Can express their views, so far as they are able to do so, and are involved in making decisions about their care, treatment and support.
  • Have their privacy, dignity and independence respected.
  • Have their views and experiences taken into account in the way the service is provided and delivered.

How this check was done

We reviewed all the information we hold about this provider, carried out a visit on 14/10/2011, looked at records of people who use services, talked to staff and talked to people who use services.

Our judgement

We found that the registered provider had met the compliance actions set for this outcome at our last review of compliance in June 2011. People who use the service were being actively encouraged and supported to participate in a variety of interesting and age appropriate social activities in the wider community.

User experience

On this occasion we did not speak to people about this outcome area.

Other evidence

At our last review of compliance in June 2011 we found that the registered provider was not making sure that the people who used the service received a full schedule of weekly activities as agreed with and funded by their placing authorities.

We found that the registered provider was not making sure that people who used the service were given the opportunity to take part in meaningful activities both within and outside of Bevan House.

We found that people who used the service were not provided with information on what the service is providing in a format that they could understand.

The acting manager sent us an improvement plan on the 21st of June 2011. This stated that the registered provider had completed a recruitment exercise and employed one new member of staff whose references and Criminal Records Bureau checks had been received and they started work on 13th June 2011. A male member of staff had also been transferred from Unicorn House. Key-worker meetings were taking place to review service user’s activities. The acting manager had ordered a pictorial board and would ensure that activity photos were posted for people who use the service to know and see which activity they were to be engaged on the daily basis.

As stated in the improvement plan we found an information board on a wall in the dinning room that contained photographs of all the staff that were on duty during our visit and the activities the people who use the service were engaging in at that time.

On our arrival at the care home the two people who currently live there were out. The acting manager told us one person was attending workshop classes at a local college and the other was out with staff at a local park. The acting manager also told us the person who had gone to the park would be going on to a party in the afternoon. Weekly activity schedules and diary notes staff was maintaining on a daily basis revealed that people who use the service were being actively encouraged and supported to participate in a variety of interesting and age appropriate social activities in the wider community.

During a tour of the premises we saw many of the damaged games identified at the service last inspection had been removed. However there remained age inappropriate children’s games and puzzles on shelves in this communal area.