You are here

Archived: Elite Care Providers

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 9, 12, 17, 19 July 2013
Date of Publication: 17 August 2013
Inspection Report published 17 August 2013 PDF

The service should have quality checking systems to manage risks and assure the health, welfare and safety of people who receive care (outcome 16)

Meeting this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Benefit from safe quality care, treatment and support, due to effective decision making and the management of risks to their health, welfare and safety.

How this check was done

We looked at the personal care or treatment records of people who use the service, carried out a visit on 9 July 2013, 12 July 2013, 17 July 2013 and 19 July 2013, checked how people were cared for at each stage of their treatment and care and talked with people who use the service. We talked with carers and / or family members, talked with staff, reviewed information sent to us by commissioners of services and talked with commissioners of services.

Our judgement

The provider had an effective system in place to identify, assess and manage risks to the health, safety and welfare of people who use the service and others.

Reasons for our judgement

Since our last visit the agency had introduced a nationally approved quality assurance system which included policy and procedures and document templates for all aspects of delivering the business. We saw that the agency had also been awarded with the Investor’s In People award again. Lancashire County Council contract monitoring team had been working with the agency to monitor a number of improvements and we saw the action plan the agency had developed. The action plan indicated that the agency was making improvements in areas such as person centred planning training, person centred care, risk management and infection control and prevention.

We saw that there was a quality assurance process in place that monitored people's satisfaction with the service provided. The quality assurance process monitored staff training, care planning, recruitment, health and safety and complaints as some examples. We saw the results of the latest survey from March 2013 sent to people that used the agency. The manager said that the results of this would be put on the agency’s website, which had recently been developed. Comments included, ‘Pleased with the care I get’, ‘I just can’t fault this agency, the carers make my life so much easier’, ‘We are very happy with your service and all the staff and timekeeping are excellent’, ‘On the whole Elite offer a great service, thank you’ and ‘….gets on well with ….. she has a good rapport with him and asks if he has plenty to eat’.

People told us that they received visits from the agency's senior staff that checked on their care and monitored staff practice. A relative said that they had regular contact with the agency and said, "The office contacts me regularly. … is very good and has visited us at home on a number of occasions when the carers don’t know. Everything has worked out fine for us. They (agency) give excellent care and a professional service to deal with”.

Staff we spoke to said they could raise issues with the manager and provider. They were confident they would be listened to. They were opportunities to discuss personal development and any work issues they had.

The coordinator told us they completed spot checks on staff. We looked at records made of spot checks carried out on staff. People using the agency also told us that the team managers visited or telephoned them to discuss if they were satisfied with the care they received. Staff told us that they had spot checks completed on them. One staff member told us, “You don’t know about the spot checks they just arrive and we get to discuss if clients are satisfied. They check I know the care plans and that it is in place and up to date. I can also ask for advice or for care plans to be changed if they are not right. I can do that during spot checks or staff meetings”. We saw that spot checks were logged on the care planning system when a check had been done by telephone. Otherwise records were seen of visits that had taken place to peoples' home address.