You are here

Bricklehampton Hall Requires improvement

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 6, 9 December 2013
Date of Publication: 11 January 2014
Inspection Report published 11 January 2014 PDF | 82.19 KB

People should be safe from harm from unsafe or unsuitable equipment (outcome 11)

Meeting this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Are not at risk of harm from unsafe or unsuitable equipment (medical and non-medical equipment, furnishings or fittings).
  • Benefit from equipment that is comfortable and meets their needs.

How this check was done

We looked at the personal care or treatment records of people who use the service, carried out a visit on 6 December 2013 and 9 December 2013, observed how people were being cared for and checked how people were cared for at each stage of their treatment and care. We talked with people who use the service, talked with carers and / or family members and talked with staff.

We used the Short Observational Framework for Inspection (SOFI). SOFI is a specific way of observing care to help us understand the experience of people who could not talk with us.

Our judgement

People were protected from unsafe or unsuitable equipment.

Reasons for our judgement

We found different types of hoists were available for staff to use to ensure they were able to move and lift people who used the service effectively and safely. The provider may wish to note that improvements were needed in maintaining the hoists to ensure that people were protected from unsafe or unsuitable equipment.

We saw a hoist in the main hallway had a label fixed to it which indicated that a service had been due in May 2013. The registered manager told us that they had been aware that the service label had not been updated. Other hoists had labels on them which showed the same date. We were assured that hoists had been serviced during May 2013.

We saw records that showed the hoists had been serviced in May 2013. These records showed that a further service was due towards the end of November 2013.

We were told that the service in November 2013 had not happened as the provider had not renewed the service contract. We were told that the provider planned to renew the contract.

The provider may wish to note that we saw a record of an engineer visit to the home in June 2013 to repair faults found during the May 2013 service. There were occasions when we were unable to establish whether the recommendations from May 2013 had been carried out to ensure the hoists were safe. A contactor was contacted while we were at the home on 6 December 2013 and they were seen to be at the home to service the hoists on 9 December 2013.

We observed staff whilst they used equipment to help people mobilise. We saw that they did this sensitively and provided constant reassurance and protected the people’s privacy and dignity. This meant that staff were able to use the equipment correctly to meet people's needs.

We saw that other safety equipment such as the fire alarm and fire extinguishers were serviced and maintained. This meant that the provider made sure that these items of equipment remained in good condition and fit for purpose.