You are here

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 12 February 2014
Date of Publication: 11 March 2014
Inspection Report published 11 March 2014 PDF

People should be cared for in a clean environment and protected from the risk of infection (outcome 8)

Meeting this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Providers of services comply with the requirements of regulation 12, with regard to the Code of Practice for health and adult social care on the prevention and control of infections and related guidance.

How this check was done

We looked at the personal care or treatment records of people who use the service, carried out a visit on 12 February 2014, observed how people were being cared for and talked with staff.

Our judgement

People were protected from the risk of infection because appropriate guidance had been followed.

Reasons for our judgement

At our initial inspection in August 2013, we found moderate concerns relating to this standard. We had found that people were protected from the risk of infection because appropriate guidance had been followed. However, people were not cared for in a clean, hygienic environment.

During our inspection in August 2013, we had looked at five mattresses and found them to be stained with a heavy, pungent odour being given off. We received an action plan in September 2013 that stated all mattresses were to be checked and the cleanliness recorded on a weekly basis. All staff would be shown how to thoroughly check the mattresses and this would be incorporated into the staff induction. The registered manager would spot check these every week. The plan also stated any mattresses that were heavily soiled would be replaced.

We visited the home on 14 January 2014 and spoke with the operations manager and the projects manager. Daily audits were in place which stated that all mattresses were clean and were being checked on a weekly basis. We looked at three mattresses. On the outside surface they looked clean; however, when we unzipped the covers we found the inside of the covers to be stained with bodily matter that had seeped through holes on the surface.

The operations manager took immediate action and we re-visited on the 12 February 2014. We saw all staff had attended meetings, received further training and were asked to sign a pro forma stating they were aware of how to check mattresses. All mattresses had been checked and nine mattresses had been replaced with new ones. We looked at four of the older mattresses which were seen to be clean. There were now appropriate checks and systems in place with routine management audits.