You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 13 December 2018

Rating at last inspection: Requires improvement (published 2 May 2018).

About the service: The service is a residential care home providing personal care to 46 older people and people living with dementia. Thirty-eight people lived in the service when we inspected.

Why we inspected: This was a scheduled inspection based on the previous rating. The overall rating has improved to good.

People’s experience of using this service: Improvements had been made since the last inspection in February 2018 around infection prevention and control. The provider was now meeting legal requirements. All areas were clean and tidy; we saw that work to improve the facilities had been completed. The rooms we looked at were nicely decorated in colours of people’s choosing. One person told us, “I love it here and my room was decorated before I came in. I think it is super.”

People told us they felt safe and well supported. The provider followed robust recruitment checks, and sufficient staff were employed to ensure people’s needs were met. People’s medicines were managed safely. People told us, “Definitely enough staff to meet people’s needs” and “Everybody is pleasant and gets you what you want.”

In the last year the provider had achieved an award from Dementia Care Matters for the development of the service. To achieve ‘Dementia Care Matters Butterfly Model of Care Quality of Life Accreditation’ the provider had remodelled the environment on the ground floor into three individual areas based on people’s dementia care needs. Staff had received training and development around management of dementia and demonstrated a good understanding of dementia care. They worked with people’s individual strengths to ensure their independence, wishes and choices were promoted. This had a positive impact on people and meant people were much more settled and at ease. Staff had time to do activities, discussions and get to know people and relatives.

Staff knew about people’s individual care needs and care plans were person-centred and detailed. People described staff as “Excellent, caring and knowledgeable.” We were told staff treated people who used the service with compassion, dignity and respect. One person said, “Well I think the atmosphere is pretty good - the way the home is divided up. Although one or two people living with dementia do walk around, the staff are there to offer help if they need it.”

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

People told us the service was well managed and organised. The management team assessed and monitored the quality of care provided to people. People and staff were asked for their views and their suggestions were used to continuously improve the service.

More information is in the full report.

Follow up: We will continue to monitor intelligence we receive about the service until we return to visit as per our re-inspection programme. If any concerning information is received we may inspect sooner.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 13 December 2018

The service was safe

Details are in our safe findings below.

Effective

Good

Updated 13 December 2018

The service was effective

Details are in our effective findings below.

Caring

Good

Updated 13 December 2018

The service was caring

Details are in our caring findings below.

Responsive

Good

Updated 13 December 2018

The service was responsive

Details are in our responsive findings below.

Well-led

Good

Updated 13 December 2018

The service was well-led

Details are in our well-led findings below.