You are here

Saltmarsh House Residential Care Home Requires improvement

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 27 January 2012
Date of Publication: 12 March 2012
Inspection Report published 12 March 2012 PDF | 49.29 KB

Staff should be properly trained and supervised, and have the chance to develop and improve their skills (outcome 14)

Meeting this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Are safe and their health and welfare needs are met by competent staff.

How this check was done

We reviewed all the information we hold about this provider, carried out a visit on 27/01/2012, checked the provider's records, observed how people were being cared for, talked to staff, reviewed information from stakeholders and talked to people who use services.

Our judgement

Members of staff received the training and support to meet the needs of people using the service. They received annual appraisal and regular supervision to support them in their role. Overall, we found Saltmarsh House Residential Care Home had met this essential standard.

User experience

We spoke with three relatives who told us that members of staff were “nice” and “helpful.” One person told us: “They go out of their way to take care of my dad here. He is so happy here.”

Other evidence

During the visit we looked at Saltmarsh House Residential Care Home’s training records for six members of staff. The records showed they had received training in a number of areas including infection prevention and control, health and safety, food hygiene, manual handling, and fire safety. All training was provided locally and members of staff were given time to attend training sessions. We spoke with two members of staff who had recently attended a training session on moving and handling. They said they were happy with the training provided and found the courses offered useful.

The home employed 16 members of staff and all had a National Vocational Qualification (NVQ) in care. One member of staff was currently working towards achieving an NVQ Level 3 and was given time to complete the assignments during her working hours. Members of staff told us that they were always supported to undertake training as long as it was relevant to the work they were doing.

Staff also told us they received regular ongoing supervision and appraisals. The supervision sessions were provided by the registered manager and held every three months and appraisals took place once a year. We spoke with a member of staff who recently had her supervision meeting (November 2011). At the meeting, she had requested training in dementia care and arrangements had been made for her to attend a training session in February 2012.

The home was in the process of obtaining accreditation with “Investors in People (IiP).” “Investors in People” is a standard to help businesses achieve their objectives by developing and harnessing the skills of its staff. A meeting was planned for February 2012 with the external assessors and a follow up visit by IiP was planned for March 2012.