You are here

Archived: Cedarwood Nursing Home Limited

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 22 October 2013
Date of Publication: 7 December 2013
Inspection Report published 07 December 2013 PDF | 88.18 KB

People should get safe and appropriate care that meets their needs and supports their rights (outcome 4)

Meeting this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Experience effective, safe and appropriate care, treatment and support that meets their needs and protects their rights.

How this check was done

We looked at the personal care or treatment records of people who use the service, carried out a visit on 22 October 2013, observed how people were being cared for and checked how people were cared for at each stage of their treatment and care. We talked with people who use the service, talked with carers and / or family members, talked with staff and reviewed information given to us by the provider. We reviewed information sent to us by commissioners of services, reviewed information sent to us by other authorities, talked with commissioners of services and talked with other authorities.

Our judgement

Care and treatment was planned and delivered in a way that was intended to ensure people's safety and welfare.

Reasons for our judgement

During our inspection on 11 June 2013 we found that care and treatment was not always planned and delivered in a way that was intended to ensure people's safety and welfare. During our inspection on 22 October 2013, we observed the care of 12 people who used the service. We saw that people were regularly checked by staff to ensure that their incontinence needs were met, and they were assisted to move to relieve their pressure areas. We inspected the care records for three people who had complex needs. We found that people’s needs were assessed and care and treatment was planned and delivered in line with their individual care plan. We saw that where people required care for their urinary catheters and enteral feeding tubes that the care was delivered as written in the care plans. This meant that care and treatment was planned and delivered in a way that was intended to ensure people's safety and welfare.

During our inspection on 11 June 2013 we found there were not suitable arrangements in place to deal with foreseeable emergencies. During our inspection on 22 October 2013 we found that staff had received training in first aid and equipment such as a suction machine was available in case of an emergency. This meant that staff were now equipped with the knowledge and equipment they require to deal with foreseeable emergencies.