You are here

Archived: Hazelmere

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 5, 15, 16 September 2014
Date of Publication: 30 October 2014
Inspection Report published 30 October 2014 PDF

The service should have quality checking systems to manage risks and assure the health, welfare and safety of people who receive care (outcome 16)

Not met this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Benefit from safe quality care, treatment and support, due to effective decision making and the management of risks to their health, welfare and safety.

How this check was done

We looked at the personal care or treatment records of people who use the service, carried out a visit on 5 September 2014, 15 September 2014 and 16 September 2014, talked with people who use the service and talked with staff. We reviewed information given to us by the provider, were accompanied by a pharmacist, talked with commissioners of services and talked with other authorities.

We were supported on this inspection by an expert-by-experience. This is a person who has personal experience of using or caring for someone who uses this type of care service.

Our judgement

The provider did not have an effective system to regularly assess and monitor the quality of service that people receive.

Reasons for our judgement

The service did not have a registered manager. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service and has the legal responsibility for meeting the requirements of the law; as does the provider.

In August 2014, the provider made us aware that the previous registered manager no longer held this position. We were told a manager had been appointed and would be applying to register with the Commission.

During this inspection we asked people who used the service if their views had regularly been sought about the service provided at Hazelmere. The responses we received were varied. Comments from people included; “No, not as yet but the new manager is very helpful”, “No, I met the new manager once but she did not ask about the care I am getting or if I’m happy with it”, “We were never asked for feedback by the old manager. Things are different now”, “The new manager listens to all sides then makes decisions when she gets all the points straight” and “They don’t listen to me. They want me to accept the changes they want and are not prepared to hear what I want”.

We asked people what their opinion of the quality of service provided was. Comments from them included; “Satisfied”, “Excellent”, “Poor, going downhill”, “Quite good but CIC (provider) is not as good as our previous provider”, “Currently about I am about 90% happy but this will change if the care staff constantly change and the clients don’t get to know the care staff” and “If I don’t continue to get regular carers I’ll look to move elsewhere”.

People told us they had recent made complaints around staff shortages and not having carers they knew well. Some people said they didn't feel things would improve until staff shortages had been resolved.

We spoke with the regional manager who told us that satisfaction questionnaires had not yet been sent to people who used the service since the provider took over Hazelmere in December 2013. This showed that people’s views had not been sought on a formal basis. We were told they were due to be sent out to people in order to gain their viewpoint on the service. Staff told us they had been sent a questionnaire so their views could be obtained. However, we saw no analysis or evidence of the staff survey results to show how any concerns or comments had been dealt with.

The regional manager was able to demonstrate that they identified some of the concerns we had found during this inspection through regular audits that had taken place at higher management level. We saw that clear processes were in place to show how this poor practice was investigated. Action plans had been put in place to address the concerns identified prior to this inspection. We saw that care plan reviews had begun to take place with the involvement of people who used the service after none had been carried out since the provider took over at Hazelmere. The new manager was able to provide a matrix to show what care plans had been reviewed under this new monitoring system to ensure people received care that reflected their needs. Systems were also in place for the recording and monitoring of accidents/incidents in people’s homes.

Senior staff completed regular checks of the medicines record keeping and any concerns were discussed directly with the staff involved. However, these concerns were not centrally recorded in order that they could be audited to given an overall measure of medicines handling at the service.

We looked at the minutes of the last staff meeting that was held in March 2014. Staff told us that they have had ‘flash’ meetings since then but these are not recorded. Staff told us they were able to raise to views to the manager and felt listened to.

Staff told us they had not received spot checks to monitor the quality of care they provided since the new provider took over. This meant the provider did not have a system in place to assess whether staff were competent to carry out their roles ef