You are here

Archived: Claremont Hospital

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 15 February 2011
Date of Publication: 4 March 2011
Inspection Report published 4 March 2011 PDF

Contents menu

People should be treated with respect, involved in discussions about their care and treatment and able to influence how the service is run (outcome 1)

Meeting this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Understand the care, treatment and support choices available to them.
  • Can express their views, so far as they are able to do so, and are involved in making decisions about their care, treatment and support.
  • Have their privacy, dignity and independence respected.
  • Have their views and experiences taken into account in the way the service is provided and delivered.

How this check was done

Our judgement

We found the people who use services have their views and experiences taken into account in the way the service is provided and have their privacy and dignity respected. No gaps in assurance or areas of concern were identified during the assessment of this outcome for this location.

User experience

The hospital extracts monthly patient comments (positive and negative) from the patient surveys and these were submitted as supporting evidence. A small number of examples are set out below relevant to this outcome.

"The speed – efficiency and politeness extended was absolutely first class. A superb example of how to treat people as patients and patients as people" (July 2010).

"Could have been given more information about my aftercare, but I am also at fault as I could have asked more questions" (July 2010).

"Staff included you in conversations and were friendly and helpful at all times. I felt very comfortable and well looked after. Staff worked together as a team"

(September 2010).

"An excellent experience. The staff were very professional and I was treated with dignity and friendliness" (September 2010).

"A delightful greeting from the nurse. Total reassurance given throughout" (September 2010).

"Friendly staff from reception through to the consultant. All put you at your ease which as a patient is priority" (November 2010).

"A wonderful hospital where one can have complete confidence in all departments. The only hospital I have ever been relaxed on entering" (November 2010).

On the site visit performed 15 February 2011 we asked patients if their privacy and dignity had been respected, which they felt it had. One patient stated "absolutely…male nurse exceptionally good…not been awkward at all".

Other evidence

The provider declared compliance with this outcome at this location at registration with CQC October 2010. A provider level submission provided detailed explanatory notes regarding 'respecting and involving people who use services' , 'how service users views are obtained and used to influence services' and regarding the 'promotion of equality, diversity and human rights'.

As part of the assessment of this location the provider submitted a 'provider compliance assessment' record for this outcome. (This tool allows to the trust to perform a self assessment and explain how it is currently meeting each part of he outcome). The hospital set out information, which explained in detail how this outcome was being met, with references to supporting evidence.

It is not possible to outline all the information provided. Some examples include, the hospital explained how the patient has all the relevant information in a format and language which they can understand in an environment which protects their privacy and dignity. The hospital explained how it sees the patients as experts in managing their own chronic medical conditions, giving an example of how patients are encouraged to continue managing their own medications which do not fit the standard drugs rounds times. The hospital has included equality and diversity training as part of its annual mandatory training programme.

The hospital also voluntarily provided additional supporting evidence to demonstrate compliance with this outcome.

We have no information that suggests there are areas of non compliance with this outcome.