You are here

Apple Tree House Residential Care Home Limited Good

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 15 May 2013
Date of Publication: 19 June 2013
Inspection Report published 19 June 2013 PDF

Overview

Inspection carried out on 15 May 2013

During a routine inspection

The Care Quality Commission (CQC) received four reports from the local authority safeguarding team about safeguarding issues in the service between February 2013 and May 2013. Concerns were raised about people who used the service not being allowed to make choices around activities, diet, visitors and bed times. The provider worked with the local authority safeguarding team to investigate the concerns. A new manager was put into post in March 2013 and information from the local authority (May 2013) was that positive changes had taken place within the service.

We found that staff were able to communicate well with people who used the service. Staff were respectful and patient with individuals. All interactions we saw put the wishes and choices of people who used the service first and they were included in all conversations.

The majority of records were up to date but they did not have person centred care plans and the risk assessments were not robust.

We looked at staff files and staff training records as part of our visit and we found that staff training and supervisions were not up to date and that appropriate checks were not carried out by the provider before staff started employment.

We found that improvements were needed to the quality assurance system to ensure the provider identified, assessed and managed risks relating to the health, safety and welfare of people who used the service.