You are here

Archived: Take 4 Personnel Limited

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 29 August and 4, 24 September 2013
Date of Publication: 7 November 2013
Inspection Report published 07 November 2013 PDF

People should get safe and appropriate care that meets their needs and supports their rights (outcome 4)

Not met this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Experience effective, safe and appropriate care, treatment and support that meets their needs and protects their rights.

How this check was done

We looked at the personal care or treatment records of people who use the service, carried out a visit on 29 August 2013, 4 September 2013 and 24 September 2013, checked how people were cared for at each stage of their treatment and care and talked with people who use the service. We talked with carers and / or family members, talked with staff and reviewed information given to us by the provider.

Our judgement

Care and treatment was planned and delivered in a way that was intended to ensure people's safety and welfare. Improvements are required to ensure that support plans are completed for each person.

Reasons for our judgement

At the time of our last inspection to the service in February 2013, moderate concerns were highlighted in relation to the quality of information recorded within individual people's support plans not being as robust as they should. An action plan was forwarded to us in April 2013, detailing the corrective actions being taken by the provider to achieve compliance.

The provider told us that people who used the service had their homecare package either funded by the Local Authority or through a direct payment scheme. The latter is a government initiative that empowers people by allowing them control and choice over the service they use to meet their needs. Services provided by Take 4 Personnel were noted to be wide ranging and from as little as 30 minutes to 24 hour live in care and support.

The support plans for 12 people who received support via the domiciliary care service were viewed. This included six people who received care and support that was funded by the Local Authority and six people who received care and support through a direct payment scheme. Records showed that peoples' support plans were developed after a pre-assessment had been completed either by the Local Authority or by the domiciliary care service; and prior to the commencement of a service being agreed. This ensured that the service had considered whether or not it could meet the person's needs and also provided details to inform the individual's support plan. The provider may find it useful to note that a formal assessment using the provider's own pre-assessment template was not evident within all support files viewed and; some information was noted to be recorded on loose sheets of paper. This means there is a risk that vital information could go missing and there could be a lack of consistency in the information gathered during the pre-assessment process.

Records viewed showed that improvements had been made by the provider to ensure that people's support plans covered all aspects of a person's individual circumstances. Information included the specific level of support required, the number of staff required to provide support for each visit, the length of time for each visit, call time preferences and additional duties and tasks to be undertaken. However, we found that there was no support plan in place for two people who used the service. The care co-ordinator confirmed for one person that they were aware that this needed to be completed but were confident that this would be available at the person's home. We completed a home visit to this person and found that there was no support plan in place. This means that there is a risk that staff who provide support to this person may not have all of the information necessary to provide support. The provider may find it useful to note that there was no evidence to show that the content of the support plans had been agreed with the person who used the service or those acting on their behalf. Risk assessments relating to manual handling and the home environment were recorded.

We found that review dates for support plans to be evaluated were recorded so as to determine a person's progress with their support plan or to reflect changes made. However, we found that there was not always the evidence available to show if this had been completed. This was seen to not be line with the provider's own policy on 'Service User Plans'. This recorded, "Every plan will be regularly reviewed and revised over time."

As part of our inspection process we visited five people who used the service on 04 September 2013, and was accompanied by the office manager of Take 4 Personnel. People spoken with were very complimentary about the quality of care and support provided by staff. People confirmed that they were happy with the overall care and support provided. People told us that in general staff arrived on time and stayed for the agreed length of time. People told us that where their regular care staff were not available, ei