You are here

Archived: Dovecott Care Home

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 1, 12 July 2013
Date of Publication: 3 October 2013
Inspection Report published 03 October 2013 PDF

Staff should be properly trained and supervised, and have the chance to develop and improve their skills (outcome 14)

Meeting this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Are safe and their health and welfare needs are met by competent staff.

How this check was done

We looked at the personal care or treatment records of people who use the service, carried out a visit on 1 July 2013 and 12 July 2013, talked with staff and reviewed information given to us by the provider.

Our judgement

People were cared for by staff who were supported to deliver care and treatment safely and to an appropriate standard

Reasons for our judgement

When we inspected this service in October 2012 we found that the provider was not meeting this standard. This was because the provider did not have a satisfactory system to ensure that staff had received appropriate training, supervision and appraisal in order to carry out their role effectively. The provider sent us an action plan which set out how they were going to improve this and included assurances that the compliance action would be met by February 2013.

We completed a follow up inspection in April 2013 and identified that improvements in staff training and supervision had not been made. We implemented our enforcement procedures which required the provider to become compliant by 28 June 2013.

At this inspection we identified that there was some improvement with staff training, supervision and appraisal.

We found that most of the staff had received at least one session of supervision or observation of their practice since our last visit. We also found that a system to record and plan supervision had been implemented.

Staff we spoke with confirmed that they had received supervision and told us they felt supported. Comments included, “I have had supervision lately and feel this is an area that has improved. I feel supported by the seniors”, “I had supervision about three weeks ago, I requested training and some of this has been booked; I feel supported by seniors.”

Staff told us that the training provided since October 2012 had been an advanced dementia training course for three staff, provided by the local authority, and continence training. They told us that fire training had been provided since our visit in April 2013. Staff also told us their training needs had been discussed with them in recent supervision sessions and they were aware that training in managing behaviour that challenges services had been arranged for them although there was a waiting list. They confirmed that they had completed a wide range of training since their employment commenced but they required refresher training in essential areas as the majority of training was previously provided in 2010. Staff also confirmed that they had the opportunity to complete qualifications in care and to progress beyond basic levels. They told us they were supported in this area as one of the senior staff had completed the National Vocational Qualification/Qualifications and Credit Framework (NVQ/QCF) assessor’s award. Three senior staff had also completed a trainer’s award to enable them to train people in moving and handling.

A new staff member told us that they were in the process of completing their induction and arrangements had been made to commence the Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF) level 3. They said part of the induction included completion of the skills for care workbook. The staff member told us that since their employment commenced they had completed dementia awareness training and fire safety and had shadowed other more experienced carers for three shifts. They also said they had been shown how to care for people and how to meet their needs. They told us they were also shown techniques, such as distraction, to enable them to safely care for one person who may display behaviours that challenge the service. They said “I have had a one to one and I had a review at the end of my first week, I feel prepared to provide care for people and I feel supported.”

We observed that there were good interactions between staff and the people who used the service and that staff understood peoples needs and how to meet these.

We looked at a selection of seven staff files and supporting records. We found that supervision and observation sessions had been recorded. We found that work to plan training had commenced and some training had been arranged with the local authority. The provider told us that as the local authority now charged for the training they would be delivering in-house training to refresh essential training. At the last inspection we