You are here

Archived: Dovecott Care Home

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 3, 13 June 2013
Date of Publication: 2 August 2013
Inspection Report published 02 August 2013 PDF

People should be safe from harm from unsafe or unsuitable equipment (outcome 11)

Meeting this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Are not at risk of harm from unsafe or unsuitable equipment (medical and non-medical equipment, furnishings or fittings).
  • Benefit from equipment that is comfortable and meets their needs.

How this check was done

We looked at the personal care or treatment records of people who use the service, carried out a visit on 3 June 2013 and 13 June 2013, observed how people were being cared for and talked with carers and / or family members. We talked with staff, took advice from our pharmacist, reviewed information sent to us by other regulators or the Department of Health and talked with commissioners of services. We talked with other regulators or the Department of Health and took advice from our specialist advisors.

Our judgement

People were protected from unsafe or unsuitable equipment.

Reasons for our judgement

When we inspected this service in October 2012 we found that the provider was not meeting this standard. This was because the provider did not have a satisfactory system in place to assess for and manage risks to people in the use of bedrails. The provider sent us an action plan which set out how they were going to improve this and included assurances that the compliance action would be met "Immediately".

We completed a follow up inspection in April 2013 and identified that there were continuing concerns with the assessment for the use of bedrails, the suitability of the bedrails and safety of one person who used the service due poorly fitting bed rails on their bed. We implemented our enforcement procedures which required the provider to become compliant by 31 May 2013.

We completed a follow up inspection in June 2013. We found that most areas had been addressed and risks had been minimised for people who used bed rails.

We found that only one person was using bed rails in the home at the time of the inspection. We found that since the last inspection appropriate equipment had been obtained following an assessment by a health care professional.

A care plan to ensure the safety of the person during the period of time they were waiting for delivery of the equipment had been developed. Although this was no longer relevant it showed that appropriate action had been taken by staff to minimise the risks to the person.

Care workers we spoke with told us that they had received some information about the use of the new equipment. Some staff had been shown how to use the equipment by the supplier on delivery. Staff told us that guidance about the use of the equipment had been made available to them and they had consulted this. A policy and procedure for the use of bed rails had also been developed.

When we asked the manager who was responsible for risk assessment of bed rails she told us that in future the district nurse would always be consulted to ensure appropriate equipment was obtained.

The provider may find it useful to note that that the manager did not have effective arrangements in place to ensure that equipment would be regularly checked and serviced. For example there was no process for safety checks of the bed rails. The manager told us she would ensure that this was added to her monthly workplace health and safety checks. The service records for the hoist and the passenger lift showed that regular six monthly checks had been completed up to December 2012. However we found that the hoist had been due for service on 7 June 2013. We found that the passenger lift was last serviced in June 2012 and had been due again in December 2012. People who used the service were not accommodated upstairs at the time of the inspection and were not using the lift. Servicing of the equipment was arranged during the inspection after we brought this to the manager’s attention. A staff member informed us that the engineer was going to visit the home on the 14 June 2013 to service the equipment.