You are here

Clifford House Residential Care Home Good

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 26 February 2014
Date of Publication: 25 March 2014
Inspection Report published 25 March 2014 PDF

Overview

Inspection carried out on 26 February 2014

During an inspection looking at part of the service

When we visited there were 18 people living at Clifford House. We spoke with the provider, two care workers and four people who used the service. We reviewed a range of documents relating to the management of the home and observed care.

During our inspection on 27 November 2013, we found that the service had not protected people against the risks associated with unsafe premises. As a result of that inspection, we served the provider with a warning notice in relation to the safety and suitability of the premises with a requirement that they become compliant by 31 January 2013. On the 25 February 2014 we carried out a follow-up inspection to check whether the home had become compliant.

Prior to the inspection on 25 February 2014, we had become aware of concerns that staffing levels within the home might at times be impacting upon the ability of staff to provide person centred care and enable people to express choice about how and when their needs were met. Therefore this inspection also looked at whether the provider had ensured that there were adequate numbers of suitably qualified staff on duty at all times.

We found that the home had made some improvements to the safety of the premises since we last inspected. Work had been completed to secure the windows in order to ensure that the home maintained a safe environment for vulnerable people. Equipment had been installed to assist in maintaining safe water temperatures to prevent the risk of scalding to people who used the service. However, work to ensure effective legionella control and monitoring was in progress but had not been fully completed.

People told us that there were sufficient number of care workers to meet their needs and that staff responded promptly to call bells or requests for assistance. We found that the provider had arrangements in place to respond to changing circumstances in the service, for example to cover staff sickness or absence.