You are here

Archived: Forget Me Not Residential Home Good

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 31 July 2013
Date of Publication: 5 September 2013
Inspection Report published 05 September 2013 PDF

There should be enough members of staff to keep people safe and meet their health and welfare needs (outcome 13)

Meeting this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Are safe and their health and welfare needs are met by sufficient numbers of appropriate staff.

How this check was done

We looked at the personal care or treatment records of people who use the service, carried out a visit on 31 July 2013, observed how people were being cared for and talked with people who use the service. We talked with staff.

We used the Short Observational Framework for Inspection (SOFI). SOFI is a specific way of observing care to help us understand the experience of people who could not talk with us.

Our judgement

There were enough qualified, skilled and experienced staff to meet people’s needs.

Reasons for our judgement

On our last inspection on 3 January 2013, we found there was an inconsistency between assessed care needs and the staffing arrangements at the home. Where people had been assessed as requiring two people to meet their needs safely, this could not be met at night. The roster showed and staff confirmed there is only one member of staff on duty between 10pm and 8am. We asked the service to provide an action plan of how they were going to remedy this. The provider submitted an action plan on 23 April 2013, which stated they would recruit an assistant night carer.

The manager told us they had recruited two new staff members to work the night shift. On our inspection on 31 July 2013, we viewed the staff rotas covering the periods of 22 July 2013 to 28 July 2013 and 29 July 2013 to 28 July 2013. We saw night shifts during these periods were adequately covered. One staff member said: “I think there are enough staff now.” People we spoke with said there were enough staff and they had enough time to care for them. Training records showed the two new staff members had undertaken appropriate training and had obtained the relevant qualifications in health and social care. There were enough qualified, skilled and experienced staff to meet people’s needs.