You are here

Archived: Dr Berk Private GP Surgery

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 8 September 2014
Date of Publication: 6 June 2015
Inspection Report published 06 June 2015 PDF | 63.79 KB

The service should have quality checking systems to manage risks and assure the health, welfare and safety of people who receive care (outcome 16)

Meeting this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Benefit from safe quality care, treatment and support, due to effective decision making and the management of risks to their health, welfare and safety.

How this check was done

We carried out a visit on 8 September 2014 and reviewed information given to us by the provider.

Our judgement

The provider had an effective system to regularly assess and monitor the quality of service that people receive.

The provider had an effective system in place to identify, assess and manage risks to the health, safety and welfare of people who use the service and others.

Reasons for our judgement

At the previous inspection on 22 October 2013 we were concerned about the lack of fire prevention procedures in place. We were also concerned that the yearly patient questionnaire was not accessible. This was because it was only available in English whereas the majority of patients are Turkish speakers.

On this inspection we were provided with evidence of current fire safety checks which included a record of fire alarm testing and maintenance (last tested August 2014), monthly emergency light testing (last tested August 2014) and fire extinguisher maintenance (last checked June 2014). We were also provided with a copy of the certificate of fire risk assessment dated November 2013. We reviewed the current evacuation procedures and noted that emergency exit signs were present.

We were provided with a copy of the latest patient questionnaire, dated January 2014, which was conducted in both English and Turkish. All twenty three of the patient questionnaires returned were complimentary about the service provided, for example stating that they were satisfied with opening hours, that the staff respected confidentiality and also that the practice was clean and tidy. The issue of a lack of parking around the practice was raised. We noted that practice were sympathetic to this issue but advised us that it was outside of their control.