You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 16 August 2017

We inspected Oswestry Midwife Led Unit as part of a focused inspection of Shrewsbury and Telford Hospital NHS Trust in November and December 2016. We visited the unit unannounced on 1 November 2016.

We rated Oswestry Midwife Led Unit as good overall.

  • Staff fully understood their professional responsibility to report incidents and concerns. No serious incidents had been reported between 01 November 2015 and 31 October 2016

  • Patient records were stored securely and we saw they were up to date and legible.

  • Care and treatment is delivered in line the current evidence based guidelines. Staff adhered to the trust Intrapartum Care on a MLU or Homebirth policy (June 2016), all trust wide policies and procedures were available to staff on the intranet.

  • Effective systems of communication were established between the consultant led unit and the MLU, ensuring that effective care and treatment could be delivered.

  • Women told us that they felt very well cared for and the staff were caring, thoughtful and compassionate

  • A full review of the maternity service was ongoing, looking at different ways to improve the service with models of care being scoped by the trust

  • Midwives were clear about their role and levels of accountability

Professor Sir Mike Richards

Chief Inspector of Hospitals

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 20 January 2015

Effective

Good

Updated 20 January 2015

Caring

Good

Updated 20 January 2015

Responsive

Good

Updated 20 January 2015

Well-led

Good

Updated 20 January 2015

Checks on specific services

Maternity and gynaecology

Good

Updated 16 August 2017

Staff understood their responsibility to report incidents and concerns. No serious incidents had been reported between 01 November 2015 and 31 October 2016

Patient records were stored securely and we saw they were up to date and legible. Care and treatment is delivered in line the current evidence based guidelines. Staff adhered to the trust Intrapartum Care on a MLU or Homebirth policy (June 2016), all trust wide policies and procedures were available to staff on the intranet.

Effective systems of communication were established between the consultant led unit and the MLU, ensuring that effective care and treatment could be delivered. Women told us that they felt very well cared for and the staff were caring, thoughtful and compassionate.

A full review of the maternity service was ongoing, looking at different ways to improve the service with models of care being scoped by the trust. Midwives were clear about their role and levels of accountability.

We found urine sample bottles were stored in public toilet, this did not reflect safe practice. When we brought this to the attention of the manager the bottles were removed immediately along with urine testing strips and disposable receivers.