You are here

Dr VK Chawla's Practice Good Also known as The Surgery

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 7 December 2017

Letter from the Chief Inspector of General Practice

We carried out a focussed, desk based review inspection at Dr VK Chawla's Practice on 11 October 2017. We found the practice to be good for providing safe services and it is rated as good overall.

We previously conducted an announced comprehensive inspection of the practice on 17 November 2016. As a result of our findings, the practice was rated as requires improvement for providing safe services and rated as good for providing effective, responsive, caring and well led services, which resulted in an overall rating of good. At that time, we found that the provider had breached Regulation 18 (1) (Staffing) of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 due to an absence of systems for monitoring the status of staff members’ annual basic life support training.

We undertook this focussed desk based inspection to check that the practice had taken action to meet the legal requirements.

This report only covers our findings in relation to those areas where requirements had not been met. You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Dr VK Chawla's Practice on our website at www.cqc.org.uk/location/ 1-523702115.

Our key findings across all the areas we inspected were as follows:

  • The practice had taken action to ensure that there were appropriate arrangements in place to monitor the status of clinical staff members' annual basic life support training.

Professor Steve Field CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP 

Chief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 7 December 2017

The practice is rated as good for providing safe services.

When we inspected in November 2016, we noted that the practice locum GP’s annual basic life support (BLS) training had lapsed by two months. We asked the provider to take action and at this inspection records confirmed that the locum GP had attended BLS training within the previous 12 months.

Effective

Good

Updated 10 April 2017

The practice is rated as good for providing effective services.

  • Data from the Quality and Outcomes Framework (QOF) showed patient outcomes were at or above national averages.

  • Staff assessed needs and delivered care in line with current evidence based guidance.

  • Clinical audits demonstrated quality improvement.

  • Staff had the skills, knowledge and experience to deliver effective care and treatment.

  • There was evidence of appraisals and personal development plans for all staff.

  • Staff worked with other health care professionals to understand and meet the range and complexity of patients’ needs.

Caring

Good

Updated 10 April 2017

The practice is rated as good for providing caring services.

  • Patients told us they were treated with compassion, dignity and respect.

  • Information for patients about the services available was easy to understand and accessible.

  • We saw staff treated patients with kindness and respect, and maintained patient and information confidentiality.

  • Patient feedback from the national GP patient survey was comparable to others for aspects of care such as the extent to which GPs were good at listening and the extent to which nurses treated patients with care and concern.

Responsive

Good

Updated 10 April 2017

The practice is rated as good for providing responsive services.

  • Practice staff reviewed the needs of its local population and engaged with Barking and Dagenham Clinical Commissioning Group to secure improvements to services where these were identified. For example, late Monday evening appointments were offered.

  • GP patient survey scores highlighted that it was difficult to make an appointment with a named GP. The practice had sought to make improvements in this area, for example, by increasing the number of telephone consultation appointment slots. Urgent same day appointments were available.
  • The practice had good facilities such as step free access and was well equipped to treat patients and meet their needs.

  • Information about how to complain was available and easy to understand and evidence showed the practice responded quickly to issues raised. Learning from complaints was shared with staff and other stakeholders.

Well-led

Good

Updated 10 April 2017

The practice is rated as good for being well-led.

  • The practice had a clear vision and strategy to deliver high quality care and promote good outcomes for patients. Staff were clear about the vision and their responsibilities in relation to it.

  • There was a clear leadership structure and staff felt supported by management. The practice had a number of policies and procedures to govern activity and held regular governance meetings.

  • There was an overarching governance framework which supported the delivery of the strategy and good quality care. This included arrangements to monitor and improve quality.

  • The provider was aware of and complied with the requirements of the duty of candour. The partners encouraged a culture of openness and honesty. The practice had systems in place for notifiable safety incidents and ensured this information was shared with staff to ensure appropriate action was taken.

Checks on specific services

Older people

Good

Updated 7 December 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of older people. As the practice was found to be providing good services overall, this did not affect the rating for the population groups we inspect against.

People with long term conditions

Good

Updated 7 December 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of people with long term conditions. As the practice was found to be providing good services overall, this did not affect the rating for the population groups we inspect against.

Families, children and young people

Good

Updated 7 December 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of families, children and young people.  As the practice was found to be providing good services overall, this did not affect the rating for the population groups we inspect against.

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

Updated 7 December 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of working age people (including those recently retired and students). As the practice was found to be providing good services overall, this did not affect the rating for the population groups we inspect against.

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good

Updated 7 December 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of people whose circumstances may make them vulnerable. As the practice was found to be providing good services overall, this did not affect the rating for the population groups we inspect against.

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

Updated 7 December 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of people experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia). As the practice was found to be providing good services overall, this did not affect the rating for the population groups we inspect against.