You are here

We are carrying out checks at Cygnet Hospital Woking using our new way of inspecting services. We will publish a report when our check is complete.

Inspection Summary


Overall Treating people with respect and involving them in their care

  1. People should be treated with respect, involved in discussions about their care and treatment and able to influence how the service is run (outcome 1)
    Meeting this standard

    Our latest inspection of this standard
    On 26, 29 November and 2, 4 December 2013 during an inspection to make sure that the improvements required had been made
    See our inspector's full report about this standard published 15 January 2014

  2. Before people are given any examination, care, treatment or support, they should be asked if they agree to it (outcome 2)
    Meeting this standard

    As part of our planning for the most recent routine inspection, our inspector reviewed the information in our central database and concluded that no inspection of this standard was required.

    Our previous check of this standard was based on declarations and evidence given by this care service when they registered with CQC on 19 November 2010.

Overall Providing care, treatment and support that meets people's needs

  1. People should get safe and appropriate care that meets their needs and supports their rights (outcome 4)
    Not met this standard

    Our latest inspection of this standard
    On 9, 10, 11 February 2015 during an inspection in response to concerns
    See our inspector's full report about this standard published 8 May 2015

  2. Food and drink should meet people's individual dietary needs (outcome 5)
    Meeting this standard

    As part of our planning for the most recent routine inspection, our inspector reviewed the information in our central database and concluded that no inspection of this standard was required.

    Our previous check of this standard was based on declarations and evidence given by this care service when they registered with CQC on 19 November 2010.

  3. People should get safe and coordinated care when they move between different services (outcome 6)
    Meeting this standard

    As part of our planning for the most recent routine inspection, our inspector reviewed the information in our central database and concluded that no inspection of this standard was required.

    Our previous check of this standard was based on declarations and evidence given by this care service when they registered with CQC on 19 November 2010.

Overall Caring for people safely and protecting them from harm

  1. People should be protected from abuse and staff should respect their human rights (outcome 7)
    Meeting this standard

    Our latest inspection of this standard
    On 9, 10, 11 February 2015 during an inspection in response to concerns
    See our inspector's full report about this standard published 8 May 2015

  2. People should be cared for in a clean environment and protected from the risk of infection (outcome 8)
    Not met this standard

    Our latest inspection of this standard
    On 18, 21 November 2014 during an inspection in response to concerns
    See our inspector's full report about this standard published 10 February 2015

  3. People should be given the medicines they need when they need them, and in a safe way (outcome 9)
    Meeting this standard

    Our latest inspection of this standard
    On 9, 10, 11 February 2015 during an inspection in response to concerns
    See our inspector's full report about this standard published 8 May 2015

  4. People should be cared for in safe and accessible surroundings that support their health and welfare (outcome 10)
    Not met this standard

    Our latest inspection of this standard
    On 9, 10, 11 February 2015 during an inspection in response to concerns
    See our inspector's full report about this standard published 8 May 2015

  5. People should be safe from harm from unsafe or unsuitable equipment (outcome 11)
    Meeting this standard

    As part of our planning for the most recent routine inspection, our inspector reviewed the information in our central database and concluded that no inspection of this standard was required.

    Our previous check of this standard was based on declarations and evidence given by this care service when they registered with CQC on 19 November 2010.

Overall Staffing

  1. People should be cared for by staff who are properly qualified and able to do their job (outcome 12)
    Not met this standard

    Our latest inspection of this standard
    On 9, 10, 11 February 2015 during an inspection in response to concerns
    See our inspector's full report about this standard published 8 May 2015

  2. There should be enough members of staff to keep people safe and meet their health and welfare needs (outcome 13)
    Meeting this standard

    Our latest inspection of this standard
    On 9, 10, 11 February 2015 during an inspection in response to concerns
    See our inspector's full report about this standard published 8 May 2015

  3. Staff should be properly trained and supervised, and have the chance to develop and improve their skills (outcome 14)
    Meeting this standard

    Our latest inspection of this standard
    On 9, 10, 11 February 2015 during an inspection in response to concerns
    See our inspector's full report about this standard published 8 May 2015

Overall Quality and suitability of management

  1. The service should have quality checking systems to manage risks and assure the health, welfare and safety of people who receive care (outcome 16)
    Meeting this standard

    Our latest inspection of this standard
    On 9, 10, 11 February 2015 during an inspection in response to concerns
    See our inspector's full report about this standard published 8 May 2015

  2. People should have their complaints listened to and acted on properly (outcome 17)
    Meeting this standard

    Our latest inspection of this standard
    On 9 December 2010 during an inspection in response to concerns
    See our inspector's full report about this standard published 8 February 2011

  3. The service should tell CQC about important events that might affect the health, welfare and safety of people who receive care (outcome 20)
    Meeting this standard

    Our latest inspection of this standard
    during an inspection to make sure that the improvements required had been made
    See our inspector's full report about this standard published 8 November 2011

  4. People's personal records, including medical records, should be accurate and kept safe and confidential (outcome 21)
    Meeting this standard

    Our latest inspection of this standard
    On 29 January and 13 February 2014 during an inspection to make sure that the improvements required had been made
    See our inspector's full report about this standard published 14 March 2014

  5. Suitable management of services is provided (outcome 24)
    Meeting this standard

    Our latest inspection of this standard
    during an inspection to make sure that the improvements required had been made
    See our inspector's full report about this standard published 8 November 2011