You are here

Optimax Laser Eye Clinics - Peterborough

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 9 February 2018

Optimax Laser Eye Clinics Peterborough is operated by Optimax Clinics Limited and was established in 2006. The service is set over two floors and facilities include two reception areas, three consultations rooms, pre and post treatment areas, and a laser treatment room.

The service provides laser vision correction treatment under topical anaesthesia to adults only. If a patient required further care or surgery using anaesthesia or sedation, as an example, lens replacement surgery, patients were referred for private surgery to another Optimax Clinics Limited branch. If patients had lens surgery in another Optimax Clinics Limited branch, the Peterborough location provided pre and post-operative care. Patients are self-referring and are self-funded.

We inspected this service using our comprehensive inspection methodology. We carried out the announced part of the inspection on 15 November 2017, along with an unannounced visit on 22 November 2017.

To get to the heart of patients’ experiences of care and treatment, we ask the same five questions of all services: are they safe, effective, caring, responsive to people's needs, and well led? Where we have a legal duty to do so we rate services’ performance against each key question as outstanding, good, requires improvement or inadequate.

Throughout the inspection, we took account of what people told us and how the provider understood and complied with the Mental Capacity Act 2005.

Services we do not rate

We regulate refractive eye surgery, but we do not currently have a legal duty to rate them when they are provided as a single specialty service. We highlight good practice and issues that service providers need to improve and take regulatory action as necessary.

We found the following areas of good practice:

  • Staff received a three-day induction and refresher training.

  • Laser staff had additional training to ensure they were competent to perform their duties safely.

  • Laser safety measures were in place and were monitored.

  • Staff were competent to carry out duties allocated to them.

  • The service managed staffing effectively and had processes in place to ensure that staff had the appropriate skills, experience, and training to keep patients safe and to meet their care needs.

  • Staff members were positive about their working experience feeling supported, to be part of a team and had worked in the service for a number of years.

  • The process for obtaining consent was in line with the Royal College of Ophthalmologists (RCOph) guidelines.

  • The clinic was visibly clean and well maintained.

  • Access to the service and booking appointments was easy.

  • Interpreter services were available for patients whose first language was not English.

  • The provider collected patient feedback and analysed this to make improvements/changes to the service.

  • When informed of concerns throughout the inspections the service took timely action to mitigate risks.

However, we also found the following issues that the service provider needs to improve:

  • We found the inside of the medication cupboard in the laser room was dusty.
  • We found unlabelled medicine in the medication cupboard that did not show the name of the medicine or an expiry date.
  • We found three single use instruments that were out of date.
  • We found an identified risk that had not been properly assessed, monitored and reflected in the service’s risk register.

Following this inspection, we told the provider that it should make improvements, even though a regulation had not been breached, to help the service improve.

Heidi Smoult

Deputy Chief Inspector of Hospitals

Inspection areas

Safe

Updated 9 February 2018

We do not currently have a legal duty to refractive eye surgery, where these services are provided as an independent healthcare single speciality service.

We found the following areas of good practice:

  • There was an ‘out of hours’ emergency call system providing patients with a 24 hour mobile number following their discharge.

  • Staff maintained patient records ensuring they were, legible and up to date.

  • Laser safety was well managed and records were appropriately maintained.

  • Staff carried out an infection control audit in March 2017 which showed the service was 100% compliant in the areas of clinical practice, use of protective clothing, decontamination, care of equipment, handling of sharps and waste disposal.

  • The service had a major incident plan, reviewed in August 2017. The policy covered potential risks such as dealing with a bomb alert, fires, gas leaks and flooding.

However, we also found the following issues that the service provider needs to improve:

  • We found medicine in the medication cupboard that was not labelled with the name of the medication or an expiry date.

  • We found three single use instruments that were out of date.

Effective

Updated 9 February 2018

We do not currently have a legal duty to rate refractive eye surgery services where these services are provided as an independent healthcare single speciality service:

We found the following areas of good practice:

  • Staff were competent to carry out the duties allocated to them.

  • Laser staff had additional training to carry out their duties safely.

  • Procedures for obtaining consent were in line with Royal College of Ophthalmology (RCOph) national standards and guidance.

  • Surgeons who performed refractive eye surgery at the service held the RCOph certificate in laser refractive eye surgery.

  • All staff received an appraisal in the last 12 months.

Caring

Updated 9 February 2018

We do not currently have a legal duty to rate refractive eye surgery services where these services are provided as an independent healthcare single speciality service:

We found the following areas of good practice:

  • Staff maintained the privacy and dignity of patients.

  • All CQC comments cards we received provided positive feedback about the service.

  • The clinic received consistently positive feedback from the annual patient survey.

  • Staff gave patients transparent and accurate information about all the costs of potential treatment.

Responsive

Updated 9 February 2018

We do not currently have a legal duty to rate refractive eye surgery services where these services are provided as an independent healthcare single speciality service:

We found the following areas of good practice:

  • Access to the service and booking appointments was easy.

  • The provider offered interpreter services if patients did not speak English as their first language.

  • The provider managed complaints in a timely manner and identified learning shared with staff.

However, we found the following issues that the service provider needs to improve:

Patient information leaflets were not available in different languages.

Well-led

Updated 9 February 2018

We do not currently have a legal duty to rate refractive eye surgery services where these services are provided as an independent healthcare single speciality service:

We found the following areas of good practice:

  • The provider had a clear leadership structure from senior management level to service level.

  • Staff we spoke with reported that they worked well as a team.

However, we also found the following issues that the provider needs to improve:

  • The providers’ visions and values were not displayed in the patient areas.

  • Governance processes did not capture issues within the clinic and risk registers did not reflect current concerns.

  • Audits were limited and lacked attention to detail, influencing how the service improved.

Checks on specific services

Refractive eye surgery

Updated 9 February 2018

There was an ‘out of hours’ emergency call system providing patients with a 24 hour mobile number following their discharge.

Staff were competent to carry out duties allocated to them.

Laser safety measures were in place and were monitored.

Staff maintained the privacy and dignity of patients.

The clinic received consistently positive feedback from the annual patient survey.

Access to the service and booking appointments was easy.

The provider had a clear leadership structure from senior management level to service level.