You are here

Archived: Barton Grange Requires improvement

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Requires improvement

Updated 16 May 2017

This inspection took place on 23 March 2017 and was unannounced. It was carried out by one adult social care inspector.

Barton Grange is a residential care home that can support up to 19 older people, some of who are living with dementia, who require accommodation and personal care. Located in spacious grounds, the accommodation is arranged over two floors. During the inspection, there were 14 people living in the home.

There was not a registered manager in post. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run. There was a manager in post and at the time of the inspection they had been responsible for the service for two weeks. The manager was also responsible for overseeing one of the provider’s other homes in Weston Super Mare.

We carried out an unannounced comprehensive inspection of this service on 8 September 2016. Breaches of legal requirements were found because the service was failing to ensure effective systems were in place to monitor the quality and safety of the service. Care files were not always accurate, complete and up to date record of people's needs.

After the comprehensive inspection, we issued a request to the provider requiring them to provide us with details of the action they would take to improve the service.

We undertook this focused inspection to check the progress they had made. This report only covers our findings in relation to these requirements. You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection, by selecting the 'all reports' link on our website at www.cqc.org.uk

The environment was still not fully safe and clean. Cleaning schedules were not being followed and records were not kept of when cleaning had taken place. Some health and safety checks were not being completed by staff.

We found some action had been taken to improve people’s care records.

The systems for assessing, monitoring and improving the quality and safety of the service provided was still not fully effective. Some of the action we identified as at our previous inspection in September 2016 had not been taken to improve the safety and cleanliness of the home.

We found repeated breaches in two regulations of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. You can see what action we told the provider to take at the back of the full version of the report.

Inspection areas

Safe

Requires improvement

Updated 16 May 2017

We found the service was still not fully safe.

The building was not always clean and appropriately maintained to ensure people remained safe.

Some of the health and safety checks required were not being carried out to ensure there was a safe environment for people.

Effective

Requires improvement

Updated 2 November 2016

The service was not always effective.

People were cared by staff who understood the requirements of the Mental Capacity Act 2005, however capacity assessment and best interest decisions were not always in place when required.

People were supported by staff who had the appropriate skills and knowledge.

People were provided with a choice of nutritious food.

People were supported to maintain good health and had access to healthcare professionals and services

Caring

Good

Updated 2 November 2016

The service was caring.

People were looked after by staff who were caring, kind and compassionate.

People's right to privacy was respected and staff promoted people's dignity.

People’s confidential information was kept private.

Responsive

Requires improvement

Updated 2 November 2016

The service was not consistently responsive.

People and their families were not always involved in planning or reviewing how they were cared for and supported.

There were not enough activities and pastimes to ensure people were stimulated.

Staff understood people's preferences, likes and dislikes.

People and their relatives knew how to make complaints and knew these would be listed to and acted on in line with the providers’ policy.

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 16 May 2017

We found some aspects of the service were still not well led.

Some improvements had been made to people’s care records.

The systems in place to ensure the safety and welfare of people was being monitored, assessed and improved were not fully effective. ¿