You are here

Marsden Heights Care Home Requires improvement

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Requires improvement

Updated 9 August 2017

We carried out an unannounced inspection of Marsden Heights Care Home on 24, 25 and 26 May 2017. The first day of the inspection was unannounced.

Marsden Heights Care Home is a detached residence located in a semi-rural area on the outskirts of Brierfield. The service is registered to provide accommodation and care for up to 24 people. The service provides care for older people and older people with a dementia and does not provide nursing care.

The property is set in its own grounds, with far reaching views from the rear. There is a garden area and a small car parking space to the front of the property. The accommodation is mainly provided on one level and includes a lounge with linked dining area with a kitchenette and a separate quite/ visitor’s room. There are 18 single bedrooms and one twin room. One bedroom has an en-suite toilet. Further accommodation for up to four people is also provided in the lower floor flat. This has two bedrooms with en-suite shower rooms and a shared lounge/dining room with adjacent kitchen.

At the time of the inspection there were 21 people accommodated at the service.

The service was managed by a registered manager. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

At the last inspection, on 22 and 23 January 2015 we found the service was meeting all the standards assessed.

During this inspection we found the provider was in breach of one regulation of the Health and Social Care Act (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. The breach related to a lack of robust recruitment procedures prior to staff working at the service. You can see what action we told the provider to take at the back of the full version of this report.

We have also made recommendations for improved practice in relation to medicine management and person centred care planning.

We found there were good management and leadership arrangements in place to support the day to day running of Marsden Heights.

People made positive comments about the caring attitude of staff. During the inspection we observed staff interacting with people in a kind, pleasant and friendly manner and being respectful of people's choices and opinions.

There were some good processes in place to manage and store people’s medicines safely. We found some improvements were needed and most of these were put right during the inspection.

There were enough staff available to provide care and support and staffing arrangements were kept under review. There were systems in place to ensure all staff received regular training and supervision.

People told us they felt safe at the service. Staff were aware of the signs and indicators of abuse and they knew what to do if they had any concerns about people’s wellbeing and safety.

Arrangements were in place to promote the safety of the premises, this included maintenance, servicing and checking systems. However during the inspection we identified some areas were in need of attention.

People were happy with the accommodation at the service. We found some rooms had been upgraded and redecorated to provide for people’s comfort and wellbeing.

We found the home to be clean in the areas we looked at. However we noted there were some odours in parts of the home. The registered manager agreed to take action to pursue and rectify these matters.

The service was working within the principles of the Mental Capacity Act 2005. During the inspection we observed staff involving people in routine decisions and consulting with them on their individual needs and preferences.

People’s needs were being assessed and planned for before they moved into the service. People were supported with their healthcare needs and received appropriate medical attention. Changes in people’s health and well-being were monitored and responded to.

People were happy with the variety and quality of the meals provided. We found various choices were available. Support was provided with specific diets. Drinks were readily accessible and regularly offered. We discussed with the registered manager ways of further enhancing people’s mealtime experience.

There were opportunities for people to engage in a range of group and individual activities. Progress was ongoing to provide more meaningful activities and engagement.

People were keeping in contact with families and friends. We found visiting arrangements were flexible.

People spoken with had an awareness of the service’s complaints procedure and processes. They said they would be confident in raising concerns.

Arrangements were in place to encourage people to express their views and be consulted about Marsden Heights Care Home, they had opportunities to give feedback on their experience of the service.

Inspection areas

Safe

Requires improvement

Updated 9 August 2017

The service was not always safe

Staff recruitment did not include all relevant checks for the protection of people who used the service. There were enough staff available to provide safe care and support. Staff knew how to report any concerns regarding possible abuse and were aware of the safeguarding procedures.

We found there were some safe processes in place to support people with their medicines. However, medicine management practices needed some improvement for people’s well-being and safety.

Processes were in place to maintain a safe environment for people who used the service. However we found some safety matters required attention.

Effective

Good

Updated 9 August 2017

The service was effective.

People told us they enjoyed the meals and their preferred meal choices and dietary needs were known and catered for. People's health and wellbeing was monitored and they were supported to access healthcare services when necessary.

Processes were in place to train and support staff in carrying out their roles and responsibilities.

People were supported to make their own decisions. The service was meeting the requirements of the Mental Capacity Act 2005 and Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards.

Caring

Good

Updated 9 August 2017

The service was caring

We found Marsden Heights Care Home had a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. People were supported to maintain contact with families and friends.

People were supported to be as independent as possible. Their dignity, individuality and personal privacy was respected.

People made positive comments about the caring attitude and friendliness of staff. We observed respectful, friendly and caring interactions between people using the service and staff.

Responsive

Requires improvement

Updated 9 August 2017

The service was not always responsive

Each person had a care plan which included information about the care and support they needed. Care plans needed some improvement, to promote a more personalised and responsive approach to care planning and care delivery.

People were supported to take part in a range of individual and group activities. However progress was ongoing to provide more meaningful activities and engagement.

There were satisfactory processes in place to manage and respond to complaints, concerns and any general dissatisfaction with the service.

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 9 August 2017

The service was not always well- led

People made positive comments about the management and leadership arrangements at the service.

There were processes in place to regularly monitor the quality of people’s experience at the service. However we found that some of the checking and improving systems could be better.