You are here

This service was previously registered at a different address - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 3 December 2015

Personal Care Specialists Ltd provides home care service in the Leeds area from premises in Oakwood North Yorkshire. At the time of the inspection the service was providing care and support to 9 people and employed ten members of staff.

We inspected the office premises on 22 September 2015. The provider was given 48 hours’ notice because the location provides a domiciliary care service. Our last inspection of the service took place on the 15 August 2013 and at that time we found the agency was meeting the regulations we looked at.

There was a registered manager in post. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

We found the organisation’s staff recruitment and selection procedures were robust which helped to ensure people were supported by staff suitable to work in the caring profession. We also saw all staff had received mandatory training and that one to one supervision meetings took place which helped staff to carry out their roles effectively. We found the staff disciplinary procedures designed to protect people who used the service from poor work practices were being followed.

The support plans we looked at were person centred and were reviewed on a regular basis to make sure they provided accurate and up to date information and were fit for purpose.

The staff we spoke with were able to describe how people preferred their care and support to be delivered and the importance of treating people with respect in their own homes. People who used the service and their relatives told us staff were very caring and always provided care and support in line with their agreed support plan.

The registered manager told us they were looking at the feasibility of introducing a call monitoring system which would identify if staff had been held up and were running late.

The provider had policies and procedures relating to the safe administration of medication in people's own homes which gave guidance to staff on their roles and responsibilities.

There was a complaints procedure available which enabled people to raise concerns or complaints about the care or treatment they received. The people we spoke with told us they were aware of the complaints procedure and would have no hesitation in making a formal complaint if they had any concerns about the standard of care provided.

We saw the management of the service had a robust quality assurance monitoring system that continually monitored and identified shortfalls in service provision.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 3 December 2015

The service was safe

The staff recruitment and selection procedure was robust and newly appointed staff were not allowed to work until all relevant checks had been completed and references received.

Staff knew how to recognise and respond to allegations of possible abuse correctly and were aware of the organisation’s whistleblowing policy.

Effective

Good

Updated 3 December 2015

The service was effective.

All new staff completed induction training on employment and always shadowed a more experienced member of staff until they felt confident and competent to carry out their roles effectively and unsupervised.

Staff respected people’s rights to make choices and decisions about the way they wanted their care and support to be delivered and always acted in line with their wishes.

The registered manager and staff understood their responsibilities under the Mental Capacity Act 2005.

Caring

Good

Updated 3 December 2015

The service was caring.

People who used the service and their relatives told us staff were very caring and always provided care and support in line with their agreed support plan.

The staff we spoke with were able to describe how individual people preferred their care and support to be delivered and the importance of treating people with respect in their own homes.

Responsive

Good

Updated 3 December 2015

The service was responsive.

People who used the service and/or their relatives told us they were involved in planning their care and support and were pleased with the standard of care they received.

Peoples support plans provided staff with the information they required to make sure people received appropriate care and support.

The provider had a complaints procedure which highlighted how a complaint would be dealt with and by whom.

Well-led

Good

Updated 3 December 2015

The service was well led.

The provider had a quality assurance monitoring system which continually monitor and identify shortfalls in service provision.

Audit results were reviewed and analysed for themes and trends which might lead to changes in established procedures or work practices. There was some evidence that learning from incidents/investigations took place and appropriate changes were implemented.

People who used the service were asked about their views and opinions of the service and knew who to contact if they had a problem.