You are here

Meet our team

Paul Rew

  • 14 July 2014

Paul Rew is an experienced non-executive director in both the private and public sectors and Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales. He is currently non-executive director and chair of the Audit and Risk Committee at the Department for the Environment, Food and Rural...

Sir Robert Francis QC

  • 3 July 2014

Sir Robert Francis QC has been a barrister since 1973 and became a Queen’s Counsel in 1992. He is a Recorder (part time Crown Court judge) and authorised to sit as a Deputy High Court Judge. He is a governing Bencher of the Honourable Society of the Inner Temple, where he has chaired its Education...

Professor Steve Field CBE

  • 31 January 2014

Professor Steve Field became Chief Inspector of General Practice in October 2013. Before this, he was NHS England’s Deputy National Medical Director, with the lead responsibility for addressing health inequalities in line with the NHS Constitution. Steve is also Chair of the National Inclusion...

Andrea Sutcliffe

  • 31 January 2014

Andrea Sutcliffe became Chief Inspector of Adult Social Care in October 2013. She has nearly 30 years’ experience in health and social care, managing a range of services including those for children and older people. Previously Andrea was Chief Executive of the Appointments Commission and was an...

Professor Sir Mike Richards

  • 31 January 2014

Professor Sir Mike Richards became Chief Inspector of Hospitals in July 2013. He was a hospital physician for more than 20 years. After a variety of training posts he was a consultant medical oncologist between 1986 and 1995, and Professor of Palliative Medicine at Guy’s and St. Thomas’ Hospitals...

Michael Mire

  • 28 January 2014

Michael Mire was a partner of McKinsey & Company, the management consulting firm, for more than 20 years. He worked predominantly on strategy for retailing and financial services clients until his retirement in 2013. After leaving university Michael joined the banking firm N M Rothschild. He...

Paul Corrigan

  • 28 January 2014

Paul Corrigan is the former health policy adviser to Tony Blair and former special adviser to Alan Milburn and John Reid. Between 2007 and 2009, Paul was the Director of Strategy and Commissioning at the London Strategic Health Authority. Since then, Paul has been working as a consultant and a...

Professor Louis Appleby

  • 28 January 2014

Professor Louis Appleby is Professor of Psychiatry at the University of Manchester, where he leads a group of more than 30 researchers in the Centre for Mental Health and Safety. He was National Clinical Director for Health and Justice between 2010 and 2014, and National Director for Mental Health...

Dr Jennifer Dixon

  • 28 January 2014

Dr Jennifer Dixon is Chief Executive of the Health Foundation. Between 2008. and 2013 she was Chief Executive of the Nuffield Trust. She is also currently a trustee of NatCen Social Research. Jennifer originally trained in medicine. She practised mainly paediatric medicine before a career in policy...

Kay Sheldon OBE

  • 28 January 2014

Kay Sheldon was a Mental Health Act commissioner for 11 years and a member of the Mental Health Act Commission Board for five years. She brings personal experience as a user of mental health services to CQC and she has been involved with a variety of user-led initiatives in both the statutory and...

Download the results as a spreadsheet